The Struggle is Real

slice-of-life_individual

Day 104 seems like day 4. Coming back from vacations are so difficult with 5 and 6 year olds. As vacation approaches I try to mentally prepare myself for routines and transitions that are going to have to be practiced and modeled again. Yet I come back from a restful week only to be stressed out that they have forgotten how to line up nicely or how to try and “talk it out” with a peer before coming to tattle. Tattling… that is another subject!

I love my job and I love the age that I teach. If anyone were to tell me that I could trade with any grade level I would stay right where I am. They are babies when they enter my classroom and leave with so much more independence and knowledge that it warms my heart. I should post quotes throughout my plan book and in areas that are only for me in my classroom so that when I am having “one of those days”, I can glance at it really quick and remember that I love what I do.

So back to the struggle… I have a student who, in addition to having difficulty with returning from vacations, etc., I am having a hard time finding my patience with her. I like to think of myself as a patient person. With this child, she has to come and tell me if her sock has come off or if she put her shoes in her backpack, etc. She already has a hard time keeping her focus long enough to get ready to go home that hearing about her sock falling off her foot isn’t really a big deal to me. I just feel as though it is taking time away from students who really need my help.

This is something that goes on all day long which I think is why I am losing my patience. Anyone else have a similar situation? How are you handling it?

 

 

Published by

mmatticek

I am a Kindergarten teacher and mother of 2. I also have a little hobby of making signs during my "free time". I have never blogged before and am anxious to see how this goes!

6 thoughts on “The Struggle is Real”

  1. Been there done that with several students in the past! Let her know you will offer her a falcon slip every time you notice that she tells a peer about a problem instead of you! Then make a BIG deal about how many times she shared her problem with a peer rather than the teacher! She will LOVE that extra attention!

    Like

  2. Meg,
    One key is always to treat every child with the dignity and respect that they deserve. Each day is a new day and sometimes we need a reset during the day. Figuring out what the child needs is the key!

    Welcome to the “Slice of Life”!

    Like

    1. Oh absolutely. All of my students are treated with dignity and respect. I explain to them that each day is a new day and she is treated as such. I was just saying that inside I feel like I am losing my patience.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I can relate so much. The group I work with this year are so challenging. I struggle to reach all and engage all but it is such a struggle. I am exhausted at the end of the day and my patience is so slim. But I am not quitting, I tell myself. I keep figuring out what is working. I keep reminding all to help each other. We are all helpers! And I keep counting those days. Somehow once I got to 100, I started to feel better. I will make it. I also relaxed as I began to accept that I may not accomplish all. But I will help all to grow some. Back in October, I was praying for a blizzard so I would have snow days. But now it is warming up and not one snow day. Oh well. Hang in there!! We will make it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

