The Love of a Sibling

slice-of-life_individual

My husband and I got married in August 2009. I had started a new teaching job in September and in November we bought our first home. Later in November we found out that we were expecting our first child. We had planned on having children, but didn’t expect for it to happen so fast. Nevertheless, we were so excited for this next stage in our life.

Our son was born and life felt perfect. I don’t think I knew the depths of unconditional love until I became a Mom. He could make the most difficult days better and I would have loved to do nothing more than stay with him during his first few years of life. We were, however, very fortunate to have family care for him while we both worked. My husbands parents were both retired and offered to be our “day care”. What a wonderful gift for all of us.

Four years later we discussed the possibility of adding another addition to our family. In March of 2014 we found out we were pregnant again. Our son was so very excited and was determined that we were having a girl because he was already a brother and didn’t need another one. Fair point of view. 1780835_10101542244626259_1398626879_n

In November of 2016 we welcome a baby girl into the world. Once Mackenzie arrived we invited Carson into the room with just us so he could  meet his sister for the first time. She had brought him a big brother gift of ninja turtles and as he looked at her he whispered, “Hi Mackenzie. I’m your big brother Carson and I am going to take care of your forever.” Melt. My. Heart. I am so sad that I didn’t get that on video. But I have the memory to visualize whenever I want. 10647002_10102103534017819_8408011538153713893_n

They are the best of friends and she is at the point now that she wants to do any and everything he does. As I mom, I couldn’t be more blessed. Blessed with the life I have been given and those I get to experience it with.

11216264_10102978761844239_2998272289746032761_n.jpg

Published by

mmatticek

I am a Kindergarten teacher and mother of 2. I also have a little hobby of making signs during my "free time". I have never blogged before and am anxious to see how this goes!

5 thoughts on “The Love of a Sibling”

  1. As they get older they will become even closer! It is a wonderful thing to witness as a mother! I love the part where he will take care of her for life! Knowing your boy…I know he will follow through! Great slice mmatticek!

    Like

Leave a Reply

