Sometimes we just have to wait

slice-of-life_individual

Your wedding day is one of those special days some girls dream about. The proposal, what the ring will look like, what the style of dress will be, etc. I loved every part of my wedding, from the small little details to dress shopping and just a night out at the lake with girls for the bachelorette party.

I asked my sister to be my maid-of-honor. I am 4 years older than she. Growing up we fought like siblings do but there is no one else I wanted to have standing beside me than her. At the time she was dating someone. They had been together for a year or so. He didn’t have any interest in getting married.

Four years later, there still wasn’t a ring on her finger. My family and I kept asking her “when is he going to do it?”. I believe his family also gave him a hard time. Every Christmas or Valentine’s day there would be a small box for her to open and we would think, “here it is!”, only to see that it was a pandora charm for her bracelet. Ouch. She handled it very well though. Much better than I would have. I suspect you would have sen the disappointment on my face for days. Not Morgan. She didn’t let it bother her.

A couple of years later she called me and said, “I have some news for you”. Oh my gosh, I thought. FINALLY! “You’re engaged?!” I asked frantically. The answer was “no”. Instead, she told me I was going to be an aunt! I was speechless. Somehow we just skipped the idea of marriage and now we are talking about babies! How could I not be excited for her. But how I wanted her to have the experience of being a bride still.

A year or two after Ayson (my nephew) was born, my sister started receiving a dozen roses the week leading up to Valentine’s Day. Unfortunately, my sister’s birthday IS on Valentine’s Day. I thought, “This is it. There has to be a ring on her birthday. Why would someone send a dozen roses for a week and then nothing.” I think my sister got her hopes up as well because on Valentine’s Day, her birthday, there was no sign of a ring.

At this point I am starting to get upset. I am sad for my sister because I want her to have this experience. I know that marriage isn’t for everyone. But I also know that my sister would like to get married. However, at this point, she said she didn’t really care about getting a ring.

This past year my sister and her boyfriend welcomed another baby boy into the world. With Adam working away for his job, often gone for 1 – 2 weeks at a time, my sister is super mom. She works, takes care of a home, and is the best mom to her two boys. I am in awe of her everyday. I don’t know how she does it.

This year, after Valentine’s Day, I got a text from her. Honestly, I thought it was going to be her giving me crap for not ordering her Mary Kay yet. Instead, this is what I got…

16804280_1813773322216669_506722546553738319_o.jpg

Published by

mmatticek

I am a Kindergarten teacher and mother of 2. I also have a little hobby of making signs during my "free time". I have never blogged before and am anxious to see how this goes!

7 thoughts on “Sometimes we just have to wait”

  1. Great things are worth waiting for! I am sure he had his reasons and wanted to make sure it was the right time. Now you get to start thinking about what theme you will use for her wedding shower!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

