They are only little once…

slice-of-life_individual

Everyone has their own parenting opinion. So when you are a first time mother, you get advice, whether you are looking for it or not. So you have to take it with a grain of salt and do what you think is best for you and your family.

When my son was born, I would hold him on my chest each night before he went to sleep. And after he fell asleep I would keep him with me. I felt like I couldn’t get close enough. Β A pattern started that perhaps some parents or adults would frown upon. He slept with my husband and I. I don’t believe in letting my child “cry it out” in his crib while I listen to him with such desperation in his scream. I gave it a try once but that was the first and last time I would do it.

My daughter was born 4 years later and we did well laying her down in her own space for the first 6 months. Of course, she was right next to our bed so that I could easily reach her if she needed me. When she got to the point of sitting up, we had to change her routine. You guessed it, in bed with us. At this point I am assuming some of you are shaking your head right now. Though I can understand your point of view, please understand and respect the choices we made as parents.

One of the most frustrating things is to hear others comment on how you are raising your child, the food you let them eat, how much screen time they get, etc. To each their own. My children are respectful, kind, loving, everything I would hope for them to be. There will be a day when my son doesn’t want me to give him a kiss at school in front of his friends or when my daughter rolls her eyes and tells me that she hates me. For now, I am going to soak up every minute I can. If that means sharing a bed with them so they can be close to me, so be it. They are only little once.

 

Published by

mmatticek

I am a Kindergarten teacher and mother of 2. I also have a little hobby of making signs during my "free time". I have never blogged before and am anxious to see how this goes!

10 thoughts on “They are only little once…”

  1. My friends tell me I sometimes over-use the phrase “Not my circus, not my monkies.”

    It’s a wise saying that works for both sides of the advice-giving-and-receiving story, though! People who don’t walk your path shouldn’t presume to judge your choices.

    Like

  2. Yes, you do you! We co-slept with our baby until he was 13 months and it was great. (Then I sleep-trained him in three nights and he’s sleep in his crib ever since.) I feel like the only rules when parenting are, “Keep the kid alive and healthy” and “Give them love.” Everything else is personal. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. It’s the ones who barely know you or your kids… they are the ones who irritated me the most. πŸ™‚ Enjoy your little ones!

    Like

  4. When my daughter was born, I read too many books and listened to too much advice about getting her on a sleep schedule. I’m so glad I ended up listening to my mom and grandma. They told me that you can’t spoil babies. They need cuddles and love. My girl is 7 and still loves to have “snuggle time” before bed and I’m thankful for it. I know there’s going to come a day where she won’t! You’re so right…they’re only little once.

    Like

  5. We too were co-sleepers… with all three of my kiddos. I miss those days- I still pull my 7 year old into my bed when my husband travels. There is nothing as special as hearing their sweet breath and seeing their gentle lashes against their cheeks as they sleep. Enjoy these times because you are right… they are only little once.

    Like

  6. I’ve always believed parenting is an On-the-Job training. Never let anyone second-guess you. They haven’t walked in your shoes. They don’t know your reality. They won’t deal with the consequence of decision. We all need to walk our own paths and live and learn. You’ve got this!!

    Like

  7. I love the comment above- “keep the kid alive and healthy” and ” give them love”- all of which you do! You are a great mom and your children are growing up exactly the way they should be. Yay, you!!

    Like

  8. So totally agree with all the statements above. There is no judgement. As parents, it’s your choice, your plan, your decisions. Nobody else’s business!

    Enjoy them.
    They are only LITTLE once!

    Like

Leave a Reply

