Sunday Snuggles

slice-of-life_individual

4 a.m.- dog starts whining to go out. I pull the covers up by my face a little more in hopes that perhaps the soft cries will wake my husband and he will get up to do the morning duty. No.Such.Luck.

I take her out then feed her and give her water to wet her whistle. I notice slashes of blood spots all over the walls. They just so happen to be at the height that Lexi’s tail hits when she is on a mission and throws her tail from side to side. She starts to bite at it. I push through her beautiful black fur to find cuts on the end of her tail. Poor thing. I wipe down the blood marks and Lexi goes back to bed. Not sure what happened to her but today we need to get her looked at.

I, too, head back to bed. I carefully pull back the covers and snuggle in with my youngest, holding her close to me so that I can gently kiss her forehead and listen as she sleeps peacefully.

6 a.m.- my oldest son comes down the hallway and squeezes his way between my daughter and husband. “Hi Mom”, he whispers. “Morning Babe”, I respond. Then he turns over and rests his eyelids a little while longer. Sunday morning snuggles are the best. Who am I kidding- any day for snuggling my babies is the best.

Published by

mmatticek

I am a Kindergarten teacher and mother of 2. I also have a little hobby of making signs during my "free time". I have never blogged before and am anxious to see how this goes!

10 thoughts on “Sunday Snuggles”

  1. I love this post so much! Nothing better than snuggling with my six year old on Saturday and Sunday mornings when we don’t have to get up, and go, go, go. It’s the best feeling to have that quiet, quality time with our kiddos. Hope all is well with your pup, and enjoy your Sunday with your family.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

