Oh Mother Nature

slice-of-life_individual

I love Maine. I love the seasons that we get to experience. Though I have to admit, I hate snow. Let me rephrase that, I hate what the snow has the potential to do to driving conditions. I recall many weekends when I have wanted to head North to take my kids to visit my parents but haven’t been able to because the roads were too dangerous or because there was a chance of a storm.

I think the snowfall is beautiful when it first falls from the sky. There is also something about being outside at night while it is snowing and there isn’t a vehicle in sight. It is such a peaceful sound. Quite calming actually.

I have had my “fun” of snow for the season though. When looking back on moments on this day, you know, the ones facebook so generously posts for you, we didn’t have any snow at this time last year. I took my kids to the park without thick jackets on and let the cool air run through their body after a season of being cooped up inside.

Here we are, March 14th, and Mother Nature is blessing us with another round of snow. Not just a beautiful dusting either, but a significant amount that could possibly lead to another snow day tomorrow. I have a love/hate relationship with snow days.

I love the 5 a.m. phone call telling me that I can sleep in a bit longer and snuggle my babies. But there is limit to the joyous feeling when you are going into a new week for the end of the year due to snow. I hope that this is the last “hoo-rah” for mother nature and that after this we can start dreaming of spring flowers and warmer days to come.

For those affected by this upcoming storm, stay safe and warm!

Published by

mmatticek

I am a Kindergarten teacher and mother of 2. I also have a little hobby of making signs during my "free time". I have never blogged before and am anxious to see how this goes!

4 thoughts on “Oh Mother Nature”

  1. I feel your pain. We are getting hit pretty good right now here in MA. I’m so done with this as well too! 🙂 I hope you enjoy your day and your snuggles with your little ones today! Stay warm and safe up there in ME.

    Like

  2. A bit of snow now and then can be fun. A whole dump truck size load of snow at once is not so much fun especially if it interrupts life! I hope this snow is truly your last Hoorah and that spring is really around the corner next week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

