Saying Goodbye

slice-of-life_individual

I have been teaching at the same school for 8 years.  I have made some wonderful friendships.  One of those being a special woman who is retiring this year.

To say that I will miss her is an understatement.  I can’t seem to put my feelings into words.  Tonight,  as I started to think about making the invitations to her retirement party,  I started to cry.  And then the cry became loud,  uncontrollable sobs that I couldn’t wipe away fast enough.

She has been my mom away from home, the peanut to my butter,  the salt to my pepper, you get the point.  🙂

Her and I are the same kind of crazy. Crazy in that we will redo a whole bulletin board if one thing is off center. We critique crafts before we do them and think of what could be hard for the kids and if we could make it easier for them.  And at times, I just look at her and say , “it’s their work.. it’s ok if they didn’t cut right on the lines”. Lol

There aren’t many people I trust to cut things for me because I like them cut a certain way.  So doesn’t she.  And our ways are the same.  I don’t hesitate or cringe when she does cutting for me because I know of I would have a problem with it,  she will to.

In 2 months I have to say goodbye to her. I have to congratulate her on her wonderful career and all of the lives she has touched while being a teacher.  I know she has touched my life and I don’t know what I will do when she is gone.  I wish it was easier to say goodbye.  I wish she would stay.

I am thankful for the chance I had to meet and work with her. For now,  I will work on my speech,  let the tears flow and the memories last a lifetime…

Published by

mmatticek

I am a Kindergarten teacher and mother of 2. I also have a little hobby of making signs during my "free time". I have never blogged before and am anxious to see how this goes!

3 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye”

  1. She is one of the hardest working women I know! She has been very valuable for our whole school. Not sure we will find another one like her! Lucky you to have worked so close with her!

    Like

  2. Oh…I feel for you! We are so close to our teacher friends, and the kind of relationship you describe is an irreplaceable treasure. (Seriously…all you had to say was that you will let her cut things for you. I understand completely!). Best wishes as you enjoy your last few months together!

    Like

Leave a Reply

