Experiencing Jury Duty

A couple of months ago I got a letter in the mail saying that I had been summoned for Grand Jury duty. Seriously?! I thought.  I have never done this before but have heard from others that it isn’t a pleasant experience. I would much rather spend the day with my 5 and 6 year olds. Somehow the constant phrases of “please get a tissue”, “please don’t poke me”, “please go wash your hands”, “do you have to go potty?” don’t seem so bad right now.

Right now I sit in a quiet court room with about 40 others who are merely strangers to each other. No one says anything. We sit down and wait patiently  (haha, suuuure), for the judge. Slowly, conversation starts to strike among the people sitting around me. Subtle laughs prove to lighten the “mood” that we have about being in this room, not by choice. So we make the best of it.

It was an interesting process. I was not chosen as one of the 23 who need to be present every month and for that I am thankful. I am, however, an alternate, who may be called upon in the absence of another juror. My curiosity has risen about how this process looks and I honestly wouldn’t mind spending a day doing this.

I am thankful for those who work diligently looking over cases and trying to find justice to those who deserve it and by making our world a little safer by providing consequences to those who do not follow the rules. What a privilege we have to be trusted by our country to be part of the judicial process. It wasn’t a long experience for me today, but an experience I won’t forget nonetheless.

Published by

mmatticek

I am a Kindergarten teacher and mother of 2. I also have a little hobby of making signs during my "free time". I have never blogged before and am anxious to see how this goes!

4 thoughts on “Experiencing Jury Duty”

  1. It is an interesting process, isn’t it? I have never been called for a Grand Jury, but I feel like I’ve spent hours waiting to be released for plain old regular jury duty. I’ve never actually been in a jury box, but am like you and think that maybe someday I wouldn’t mind.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

