Never Enough

slice-of-life_individual

I wouldn’t change my life for anything. I am blessed with a wonderful and supporting husband, an amazing 6 year old son who loves everything about school and life and a 2 year old daughter who pushes every button she can possibly find, but has the heart of gold. With a 10-month old puppy added to this crazy life we have, our family is complete.

We bought a home 3 years ago and live less than 2 miles from the school that I work at. We have a big backyard with lots of space for our dog to run around and for our kids to play without the fear of being too close to the road. We are also fortunate enough that my in-laws watch our daughter and watched our son until he was school-age. That was a huge money saver! With all of these blessings in our life, my husband and I both work very hard, but sometimes it seems like it isn’t enough.

There are always cabinets that need to be stocked with food and health & beauty supplies. Closets that beg to be burdened with the latest fashions and styles of our friends. Walls that want to showcase our love for each other and support our decorating style. Vehicles that beg for some TLC, especially during those harsh Maine winter months that we are finally (and hopefully) leaving behind us for another season.

Among these things we want to build in time and money to give our children experiences that they will enjoy as adolescents and will have the opportunity to look back on when they are older through family photographs and albums. As a husband and a wife, we want to do all of the above and still have time to make for “us” to make sure that we don’t lose the spark we once had and still do have, but aren’t able to access as easily with the multitude of responsibilities on our plate.

I wish I didn’t have this “never enough” feeling. I don’t think the amount of time we spend together as husband and wife is enough. I don’t think we go on family trips enough. I don’t think the amount of time we spend with our children (together or individually) is enough. I don’t think we visit my family enough…. and the list goes on.

With those thoughts in the back of my mind, I really do feel that we have built a loving and warm family environment. I hope and pray that our children know how much we love them and what we wouldn’t do to keep them safe, happy and healthy. I don’t think “life” is ever enough for people. Though we may be happy with the life we have, there is always something we wish for ourselves… what is your “never enough?”

Published by

mmatticek

I am a Kindergarten teacher and mother of 2. I also have a little hobby of making signs during my "free time". I have never blogged before and am anxious to see how this goes!

3 thoughts on “Never Enough”

  1. So important to focus on the blessings instead of the complaints (she says after writing a complaining SOL post herself). Had a really interesting conversations about this with my seventh graders – in the age of social media, how even at 12 years old they feel like they are already “not good enough” or “too old to be prodigies” and all this pressure!

    Like

  2. I never feel good enough! I’m constantly comparing myself to everyone- people I know, strangers I see, people from the past. It’s annoying! But I still do it. That’s my “never enough.”

    Like

  3. When all is said and done, what is enough? When you can say… “I really do feel that we have built a loving and warm family environment.” THAT is what you’ll remember at the end of a very long and lovely life. And you’ve accomplished it! (((Hugs)))

    Like

Leave a Reply

