Thankful for my Health

slice-of-life_individualEarlier in the week I stayed home from school to care for my sick 2 year old. We all know how that usually ends up- well today was my turn. It had started last night and I tried to talk myself out of it. Like if I said, “You are not getting sick. You are not getting sick”, it was going to magically disappear. Wishful thinking!

It has only been one day. But it has been awful. I don’t need to go into detail because we all understand how the tummy bug feels. I asked my husband to stay home from work today too so he could bring our son to school and tend to the dog who would need to TLC today as well. He graciously stayed home and did whatever he could for me. I was so thankful for him.

It made me stop and think about those whose life consists of sickness and doctors visits, chemo, whatever the case may be. My heart goes out to them. I couldn’t handle just one day of feeling like this, let alone battling a disease such as cancer.

I heard on the radio yesterday after school that they were raising money for the Barbara Bush Hospital. There were children talking on air about their experiences. They sounded so strong. I am sure there are lots of feelings they encounter, but to be able to speak publicly about what they are going through amazes me. They are the bravest people I know.

Here’s to my health and reminding myself that it could always be worse.

Published by

mmatticek

I am a Kindergarten teacher and mother of 2. I also have a little hobby of making signs during my "free time". I have never blogged before and am anxious to see how this goes!

5 thoughts on “Thankful for my Health”

  1. This exact piece could have been written by me about 3 weeks ago. Likewise, I had the stomach flu and just remember thinking, “I can’t remember the last time I felt this awful.” You’ll do anything to make it go away. And then I did the same…reminded myself that there are people out there who are suffering and can’t make it go away. And just like you, I was very grateful for the ability to bounce back from this illness and get healthy. Thank you for reminding me of this again and thank you for sharing!

    Like

  2. It’s never fun to get sick. Hope you’re feeling better soon. We pray for those who are suffering with serious diseases.

    Like

  3. Keeping things in perspective is always a good way to keep your mind a little less anxious and your heart a little more thankful. However, your sickness (health) is still important- rest up and get better!

    Like

  4. So glad that your stomach bug was short lived as sometimes the anxiety from not being able to “complete the work tasks” makes it so much worse than it really is! Asking for/receiving help aren’t always easy but it sounds like your husband was helpful!!!

    Like

Leave a comment