A positive impact

slice-of-life_individual

I was unsure about this “slicing” thing when it was first introduced to me before March started. “I don’t have time” I thought, “I have never blogged before”, “what will it look like”? If you know me, you know that I have to have all of my ducks in a row before I usually agree to something. I need to know as much as I can about it, how much time it will take, yadda, yadda.

You can earn credit hours, they said. “Hmm, now perhaps this could work…” We are all in need of credit hours and will take them whenever and however (usually) we can, right?!

To my surprise, this experience has been much more than just earning those credit hours. It has opened my eyes up to the beautiful things around me and to reflect on events that I may not necessarily have reflected on had it not been for this March challenge.

My husband found out about my blog and started logging on and reading my posts. He loved finding out more about me, as he says. The things that I have blogged about this month aren’t really things that I thought about just bringing up in conversation with him. They are more my internal thoughts that I share with many strangers on here.

Reading slices from all of you has also made me more aware of my surroundings and to appreciate the things in life. Who cares that my appointment is 15 minutes late or that I can’t find the right pair of pants to wear with my shirt. At least I have health insurance that is affordable for my family so that I can get medical attention when I need it and I should be thankful that I have clothes to wear to keep me warm during these harsh winter months. Some are not as fortunate.

So I say “thank you” to the slicing world for helping contribute to this wonderful experience. I look forward to “slicing” now and then once this is over and can’t wait to start back up next March!

Published by

mmatticek

I am a Kindergarten teacher and mother of 2. I also have a little hobby of making signs during my "free time". I have never blogged before and am anxious to see how this goes!

3 thoughts on “A positive impact”

  1. Great slice Meg! I had the same feelings you did when I was trying to decide to blog! Jenna talked us into this and we are so thankful to her for that! I enjoyed getting to know you, Jenna and Paula outside of teaching! Thanks for slicing Meg! I enjoyed your posts!

    Like

Leave a comment